Oakdale Village Historic District

Oakdale Village Historic District is a historic district on 11Ч68 N. Main, 8Ч24 May, 6Ч10 Green, 12Ч23 High, 4Ч68 Laurel, 14Ч34 Waushacum, and park at Thomas and N. Main Street in West Boylston, Massachusetts. The district was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1996.In the United States, a historic district is a group of buildings, properties, or sites that have been designated by one of several entities on different levels as historically or architecturally significant. Buildings, structures, objects and sites within a historic district are normally divided into two categories, contributing and non-contributing. Districts greatly vary in size: some have hundreds of structures, while others have just a few. The U.S. federal government designates historic districts through the United States Department of Interior under the auspices of the National Park Service. Federally designated historic districts are listed on the National Register of Historic Places, but listing imposes no restrictions on what property owners may do with a designated property. State-level historic districts may follow similar criteria (no restrictions) or may require adherence to certain historic rehabilitation standards. Local historic district designation offers, by far, the most legal protection for historic properties because most land use decisions are made at the local level. Local districts are generally administered by the county or municipal government. The first historic district was located in Charleston, South Carolina and predated the first U.S. federal government designated district by more than 30 years. The innovation in Charleston introduced the concept of Уtout ensembleФ to the land use world, the notion that the character of an area is derived from its entirety, not individual parts. Other localities picked up on this tout ensemble concept, as the City of Philadelphia enacted its historic preservation ordinance in 1955.[1] The regulatory authority of local commissions and historic districts has been consistently upheld as a legitimate use of government police power, most notably in Penn Central Transportation Co. v. City of New York (1

78). The Supreme Court case validated the protection of historic resources is Уan entirely permissible governmental goal.Ф[2] In addition to Charleston and Philadelphia, other local historic districts appeared in succeeded years, and in 1966 the federal government created the National Register of Historic Places soon after a report from the U.S. Conference of Mayors stated Americans suffered from "rootlessness."[3] By the 1980s there were thousands of federally designated historic districts. The National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) is the United States federal government's official list of districts, sites, buildings, structures, and objects deemed worthy of preservation. A property listed in the National Register, or located within a National Register Historic District, may qualify for tax incentives derived from the total value of expenses incurred preserving the property. The passage of the National Historic Preservation Act (NHPA) in 1966 established the National Register and the process for adding properties to it. Of the more than one million properties on the National Register, 80,000 are listed individually. The remainder are contributing resources within historic districts. Each year approximately 30,000 properties are added to the National Register as part of districts or by individual listings. For most of its history the National Register has been administered by the National Park Service (NPS), an agency within the United States Department of the Interior. Its goals are to help property owners and interest groups, such as the National Trust for Historic Preservation, coordinate, identify, and protect historic sites in the United States. While National Register listings are mostly symbolic, their recognition of significance provides some financial incentive to owners of listed properties. Protection of the property is not guaranteed. During the nomination process, the property is evaluated in terms of the four criteria for inclusion on the National Register of Historic Places. The application of those criteria has been the subject of criticism by academics of history and preservation, as well as the public and politicians.


Bonfire Sept 20

Fireworks Sept 21

West Boylston School
Todays Weather Currently Unavailable
Top of Page